Kompany ‘lunge’ tops list of moments fans would most like to review with VAR

  • Almost 4,000 football fans were asked to choose the moment they’d most like to have been able to call on VAR
  • Kompany’s tackle, which resulted in a booking, voted the moment fans would most like to review
  • VAR comes to the Premier League for the first time this season

Vincent Kompany’s ‘lunge’ on Mo Salah in last season’s decisive match has been voted the Premier League moment fans would most like to see reviewed by VAR.

The controversial decision to award Kompany a yellow card, rather than a red, topped a list of 20 Premier League moments that fans would love to revisit.

Had the technology, which will be used in the Premier League for the first time this season, been available and the decision overturned, the title may well have made its way to Anfield than the Etihad.

Coming a close second was a much talked about moment from the 2004/5 season, when a controversial Wayne Rooney penalty helped Manchester United to a 2-0 victory over Arsenal, preventing Arsene Wenger’s Invincibles from going 50 games unbeaten.

The top three is completed by another contested decision involving Liverpool, with Raheem Sterling’s goal for the Reds in 2013 chopped off for offside. Again, the title made its way to Manchester, rather than Merseyside.

Gary Neville said: "Football is a game of opinions and all fans will have moments in the past when they think 'if that had been different'. I know I've got memories playing for Manchester United and England when I've thought if only they could look at that one again.

"The hope for this season will be that VAR clears most of those moments up, seeing the system in action it's going to be fascinating to see how players react under that scrutiny every week."

Jamie Carragher said: "It was a pivotal game in the title race last season, who knows whether the call would have been different with VAR technology, but it's exciting to have it this season and it will be another interesting talking point.

"In my career there were plenty of moments when things could have been different with VAR technology, I was that type of physical player, but it will be interesting to see how that evolves now it's going to be keeping a closer eye on the players week in week out."

Gary Hughes, Head of Football at Sky Sports, said: “We know that VAR coming to the Premier League this season is going to be a big talking point. The Sky Sports team has spent the summer getting to grips with the technology and come Friday night we’ll be ready to go.”

Also featuring in the top 10 was another controversial penalty award to Manchester United – this time Cristiano Ronaldo going down against Tottenham with Spurs 2-0 up at the time. Manchester United went on to register a thumping 5-2 victory, but was that the turning point?

Sky Sports commissioned the research with One Poll. The research also revealed that a majority of fans think VAR has improved the game.

As ever, fans can follow all the twists and turns of the new campaign across Sky Sports, starting with Liverpool v Norwich on Friday Night Football. With 128 live matches, plus all the best features, interviews and analysis across Sky Sports’ digital platforms, plus in-game clips and match highlights, Sky Sports has got the Premier League covered. 

For more information

Sky Sports PR

020 7032 1445

SkyPress@sky.uk

Notes to editors

TOP 20 DECISIONS FOOTBALL FANS WOULD MOST LIKE VAR TO REVIEW

1. Liverpool - Vincent Kompany is only yellow carded after a lunge at Mo Salah. Manchester City win the game and the title. (3 January 2019)

2. Arsenal - Wayne Rooney wins a penalty for Manchester United and Arsenal are denied a 50th game unbeaten. (24 October 2004)

3. Liverpool - Raheem Sterling's goal is ruled offside against Manchester City. Liverpool lose 2-1. (26 December 2013)

4. Manchester United - Didier Drogba scores the winner in a 2-1 win over United. But was Drogba in an offside position? (3 April 2010)

5. Manchester United - Johnny Evans is sent off against Manchester City and United go on to lose 6-1. United then lose the title on goal difference. Should Evans have been sent off? (23 October 2011)

6. Tottenham Hotspur - Tottenham were winning 2-0 when Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo won a penalty. United went on to win the game 5-2, but did this turn the game and was there contact? (25 April 2009)

7. Manchester City - Ashley Young brings down Sergio Aguero in the Manchester derby but no penalty is given. Manchester Utd win the game and City must wait to win the title. (7 April 2018)

8. Tottenham Hotspur - Chelsea beat Tottenham 2-1 with a last-minute goal from Kalou. Replays suggest it was offside? (30 April 2011)

9. Aston Villa - Ryan Fredricks stamps on Jack Grealish but the referee takes no action. Villa go on to lose the game 1-0. (Play-Off Final - 26 May 2018)

10. Bournemouth - Charlie Daniels is 'karate kicked' by Eric Bailly but no penalty was awarded. Lukaku the scores a fourth for United that looks offside. (December 2018)

11. Manchester City - Willy Boly's goal for Wolves means City take just a point from the game. Was it handball? (25 August 2018)

12. West Ham United - Sadio Mane's goal meant that Liverpool escaped the London Stadium with a draw. But was James Milner offside in the build-up? (4 February 2019)

13. Aston Villa - Nemanja Vidic concedes a 5th minute penalty which Villa score, but Vidic is not sent off. (League Cup Final - 28 February 2010)

14. Sheffield United - Liverpool are awarded a penalty which allows them to share the points. Replays show there may not have been any contact. (19 August 2006)

15. Bournemouth - Tyrone Mings is sent off for an alleged stamp on Zlatan Ibrahimovic. (4 March 2017)

16. Burnley - Arsenal are awarded a stoppage time penalty, which they score to win the game. But was there an offside in the build-up? (January 2017)

17. Norwich - Andy Johnson wins and scores a penalty for Crystal Palace. Was it a dive? Norwich are relegated just weeks later. (16 April 2005)

18. Norwich - Cameron Jerome's spectacular overhead kick against Crystal Palace was ruled out for a high foot. Should it have been? (8 August 2015)

19. Sheffield United - Luton Shelton latched on to a through-ball and Manchester United's Gabriel Heinze's only cause of action was to scythe him down. Replays suggest that he got nothing on the ball. (17 April 2007)

20. Burnley - David Dunn scores a stoppage time winner for Blackburn. But was it offside and should it have been given? (28 March 2010)

About Sky

With 24 million customers across seven countries, Sky is Europe’s leading media and entertainment company and is proud to be part of the Comcast group. Our 31,000 employees help connect our customers with the very best of Sports, News, the arts and to our own local, original content. Following the success of Sky originals like Chernobyl, Patrick Melrose, Das Boot and Gommorah we launched Sky Studios and now plan to more than double our investment in original drama and comedy over the next five years.

Our technology allows customers to watch what they want, when they want, how they want, and as we connect millions of families to content they love, it is our responsibility to do it safely – that’s why we offer services like Sky Broadband Buddy and the Sky Kids app. And our online streaming service, NOW TV, brings viewers all the enjoyment of Sky with the flexibility of a contract-free service.

We also believe that a company of our scale has a responsibility that goes beyond our business, and into the community. Our Sky Ocean Rescue campaign has reached millions across Europe, we’re on track to be free of single-use plastic by 2020, we’re investing £25million over five years in ocean-saving tech and we’re a proud employer – recognised by The Times and Stonewall for our approach to inclusivity.